Five Switzerland County Teachers Earn Google Certified Educator status

Since becoming a Google school district in 2013, all staff and students have worked to learn and integrate Google Apps in the classroom. Teachers can earn certifications demonstrating their skills at various levels by passing exams: Level 1, Level 2, Trainer, and Innovator. Congratulations to these educators for their achievement!

Level 1 certification

  • Amanda Alford – MS science
  • Cory Bougher – MS/HS ecoach
  • Matt Jung – HS PLTW, math, science
  • Matt Levell – JC eCoach
  • Ashley Wehner – HS agriculture

Level 2 certification

  • Amanda Alford – MS science
  • Cory Bougher – MS/HS ecoach
  • Matt Levell – JC eCoach

Trainer certification

  • Amanda Alford – MS science
  • Cory Bougher – MS/HS ecoach

Jung Wehner Google cert        matt levell google cert


Two Teachers Featured on IXL’s Elite 100 for 2017

Elementary teachers, Breanna Pietrykowski and Molly Toomey, were featured on IXL’s Elite 100 of 2017 for their students’ time working

Molly Toomey IXL featureMolly Toomey

Brenna Pietrykowski IXL quote Breanna Pietrykowski


Switzerland County Awarded Indiana Dept of Education’s 2017 Digital Learning Grant

A team of 4 made the trip to Indianapolis March 2017 to deliver a presentation to the Indiana Department of Education (INDOE) the corporation’s plan on how grant monies would be spent to support professional development for teachers and enhance student learning. The team of Cory Bougher, Gregg Goewert, Amanda Alford and Melissa Mullen, had a successful presentation and were announced among the winners on March 7th (see Madison Courier’s article). SCSC is one of 32 districts to receive a grant this round in which 64 districts applied.

DLG grant team


Travis Griffith Awarded 2018 American Legion Certificate of Recognition

Travis Griffith AmLeg 2018 award travis-griffith

American Legion 2017 Educators of the Year

The American Legion 9th District recognizes an outstanding educator at the elementary, middle, and high school levels each year. Awards are based on career, community service, family involvement and letters of recognition. Each winner receives an $500 award.


National Association of Agricultural Educators Awards Greg Curlin Outstanding Educator of the Year

The NAAE Outstanding Teacher Awards go to agriculture teachers that have kept a tradition of excellence in their program along with the inborn love for agriculture. For the past fourteen years, Curlin has taken the Switzerland County agricultural education program from a 40-student program struggling to stay a loft to an amazing 176 students enrolled. When Curlin began teaching he knew that he had to develop a curriculum that would be of interest to a larger more diverse audience. Today, Curlin teaches courses in animal science, horticulture, landscape, food science, agribusiness and agricultural mechanics. Curlin has been active in the ag teacher’s organization in Indiana, and served as NAAE president in 2011.

Greg Curlin NAAE award